Second Trimester

Today I am officially in my third trimester and I want to reflect on my second trimester because it really was an amazing 3 months.  Some will say that you will “feel your best” in your second trimester and I have to agree, I felt great.

photo 2

12-14 weeks: I was still getting sick in the mornings but it wasn’t that bad.  It was only once and I was usually able to control it if I got up and ate right away.  Eating really helped.

14 – 20 weeks: The morning sickness stopped and I felt great.  During these weeks my weight got commented on a lot.  Whether it was “you barely look pregnant” or “I see your little bump!” It seemed as though someone was always commenting.  At first this bothered me because I have never really gained weight before.  Up until my pregnancy I was still wearing clothes that I had worn in high school.  So having people commenting on my weight daily was a bit strange to me but I grew to love it because I love this little person that I am growing inside of me more and more every day.

20 weeks – 28 weeks: *Week 22* was when I first felt the baby move.  It’s been moving lots ever since! And I am officially wearing mostly maternity clothes or stretchy Columbia under layers and hoodies. Definitely have a noticeable baby bump that I am quite happy to show off.   I lucked out and won a contest for Thyme Maternity and have enough clothes now to last me throughout this pregnancy.

During the second trimester I was lucky enough to be able to continue my usual lifestyle with only making a few small changes or restrictions to certain activities.

Ice climbing: So thankful that Mountain Mama makes a maternity harness that has allowed me to continue to climb throughout my pregnancy.  In order to keep climbing I did decide to make a couple changes/restrictions such as only top roping and belaying Mike but then having him repel down because lowering him with a full body harness is a bit difficult.  After doing a couple climbs I am quite content with sitting back, eating, and watching the guys climb while I simply enjoy being outside.

10846182_736737596374_8507474221097481120_n

photo 1

1004559_736739083394_3582155332417328921_n

Cross Country Skiing:  Such a great way to stay active in the winter.  I haven’t had to change much about this activity other than sticking to trails with few hills or hills I know I can handle.

photo

Snowshoeing: Definitely an activity I plan to enjoy right up until the end of my pregnancy as long as we get more snow!

10857937_735861352374_8942478517419636732_n

10463934_737267659124_6384184267312843199_n

Some other activities I am still enjoying but don’t have pictures of are

Swimming: I’ve started swimming every week with a friend of mine.  It’s a great way to get exercise after work as well as some quality girl time.

Volleyball: Mike and I play in a mixed recreational league.  I keep my feet on the ground as much as possible, I do not dive for anything, and there’s no hitting allowed in this league anyways.  I do find it difficult to resist the temptation of giving it my all.  I just have to watch the ball hit the floor sometimes and that’s okay.  My teammates are really good to cover me.

10350338_736737461644_9032495341419472977_n

It’s really important for me to stay active throughout my pregnancy.  Not for any reason other than the fact that I know I would be miserable sitting on the couch eating these precious months away.  I am loving being pregnant and I really believe that being happy is the best way to stay healthy.  Therefore, I will continue to do what I love, as long as I can.