3 months in

I’m almost four months into motherhood and I have to say, I’m loving every minute of it.  

When I was pregnant I thought I’d be able to continue the same activities we did pre-pregnancy, rock climbing and (whitewater & flat water) kayaking but I was wrong. Turns out you can’t take a 3 month old down a set of rapids or up a cliff…  I knew that, but I thought maybe I’d be able to leave her for a little bit to do those activities. We have two sets of grandparents who would be more than willing to look after our precious little one for a couple hours but I’m just not ready. I don’t want to leave her.

Luckily for me, our little girl loves being outside. If she is ever fussy, we take her outside and she immediately stops. The problem is, where we live (Ontario) the bugs are horrible. When it’s overcast there are swarms of mosquitos and when it’s sunny there’s a party of horse & deer flies that will circle us. 

 

We had to find an activity that allowed us to still be on the water but that would also protect our little one from the sun and bug bites. That’s where the SUP comes in play. We decided to purchase a Level Six SUP because with this we are able to take turns being on the water while our daughter naps in the hammock or plays in the shade. There is usually enough breeze to keep the bugs away and enough trees to protect her from the sun. And I’m able to see my husband give me the thumbs up so I know I can stay out on the water a little bit longer. 
     

I’m okay with taking a break from our regular activities to spend quality time watching her grow up.  I get more of a thrill watching her try to sit up on her own and rolling over then I do paddling down the river. 
   

 
Sure things have changed, we now have a lot more stuff to take to the beach and my skin has never been this light but I wouldn’t change it for the world.  

She makes every day a good day.